“Sync Tables: Force” during upgrade


This post serie (By NAV TEAM Blog) illustrates a lot of best practices\tips & tricks for upgrades, usable up to NAV 2017, as it uses the same paradigms of upgrading / synchronizing table patterns used since NAV 2013 R2.

The last part (section 3) is interesting because it concerns using the “Sync Tables Force option” (no validation) explaining the problems that could be generated when upgrading to NAV 2017.

From which this consideration (tip) for upgrade > “Please do not consider a table synch with the option force set to true!” “This is exactly what we do not want because we do not know exactly what data could be deleted when running the sync with force, and if this could empty any needed tables or any required auxiliary tables.”

Sources

Best Practices Tips and Tricks for Upgrading to Dynamics NAV 2013 R2 or Dynamics NAV 2015
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/nav/2015/06/12/best-practices-tips-and-tricks-for-upgrading-to-dynamics-nav-2013-r2-or-dynamics-nav-2015/

Best Practices Tips and Tricks for Upgrading to Dynamics NAV 2013 R2 or Dynamics NAV 2015 Part 2
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/nav/2015/06/17/best-practices-tips-and-tricks-for-upgrading-to-dynamics-nav-2013-r2-or-dynamics-nav-2015-part-2/

Best Practices Tips and Tricks for Upgrading to Dynamics NAV 2013 R2 or Dynamics NAV 2015 Part 3
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/nav/2017/06/12/best-practices-tips-and-tricks-for-upgrading-to-dynamics-nav-2013-r2-or-dynamics-nav-2015-part-3/

Use “Sync Tables With validation” always!

Annunci