Business Central: Delete User Configurations and Personalizations

Business Central: Delete User Configurations and Personalizations

If you have some issues with Business Central users, ex: you can’t login (the “back home message”), permissions lost, run-time errors on pages, standard fields not showed in pages etc.), you can delete ALL user configuration and personalizations to recover the “bad” user.

After making the deletions there are still problems, it is worthwhile to create a new user; below some tips to try to fix the user instead of recreating it.

#1 – DELETE USERS CONFIGURATION USING [User Security ID] EXTRACTED FROM USER NAME

You can write an extension to delete ALL user access Info and ALL personalization

ABOUT USER ACCESS

You need to delete user’s data from these tables:

[Access Control] where [User Security ID] = N’ID′ — table nr. 2000000053

[User Metadata] where [User SID] = N’ID′ — table nr. 2000000075

[User Property] where [User Security ID] = N’ID′ — table nr. 2000000121

PS: You can open this table “because is a system table” but you can delete data.

[User Default Style Sheet] where [User ID] = N’ID’ — table nr. 2000000067

ABOUT USER PERSONALIZATIONS

[User Personalization] where [User SID] = N’ID’ — table nr. 2000000073

[Page Data Personalization] where [User SID] = N′ID’ — table nr. 2000000080

#2 – YOU CAN DELETE USER PERSONALIZATION FROM “USER PERSONALIZATION” CARD

  • Using Clear personalized Pages Action

AND FROM “DELETE PERSONALIZATIONS” FROM USER DELETE PERSONALIZATION LIST PAGE

#3 – DESIGN AND ADD LOST FIELDS FOR BAD USER

Scenario: User can’t see standard fields in standard page.

If you have some errors in some page (for example you can’t see some standard fields), you can try to Design the page in the Sandbox Environment and create an extensions with the Lost Fields.

In this example the user can see the field “Account Type”.

“Locked” from Personalizing: Reason for this

You have personalized the page before, but it was done using an earlier version of the product. We changed the way personalization works behind the scenes since the last time that you personalized the page. Unfortunately, the old way and new way of doing things do not work together.

UNLOCK PAGE (if the Page is locked by another Customization…)

Open Design Mode and add the “Lost Fields” (in this case the field was “placed” but non visible for the user”); after this operation the field will be Reassigned and visible in the page.

(Ex: page: “General Journal”)

The “Field” is now available in the page.

Save “.APP” extension file and the Extension is automatically deployed and installed in the tenant.

In this case the Extension “Fields General Journal” is based on another installed extension.

#4 – DISABLE PERSONALIZATIONS FOR A PROFILE

If you can prevent all users that belong to a specific profile from being able to personalize their pages: Open Profiles, select the profile in the list that you want to modify and after select the  “Disable personalization” check box.

Ex: PM2 Profile (Duplicated from the original PM Profile)

One thought on “Business Central: Delete User Configurations and Personalizations

  • 17 September 2019 at 3:32 PM
    Permalink

    Ciao Roberto,
    is there a simple way to delete a user in Business Central under User Setup ?
    Even though I have deleted user in Office365 Admin portal, they still show up in Business Central.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: